Midwest Regional North American Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge

University of Wisconsin-Madison Dairy Science students who participated in the 2017 Midwest Dairy Challenge, along with their coach, Ted Halbach.

The Midwest North American Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge (NAIDC) guarantees UW-Madison  spots in the contest and if space allows, we may be granted 6. All teams at the regional contest will be aggregate teams. That means teams will be made up of individuals from different schools and will be assigned to a team with the use of a student skills’ assessment or randomly assigned to an aggregate team by contest management.

If you are interested in participating at the Midwest NAIDC, you must complete a skill assessment. Students chosen to participate will incur no personal cost as the department of Dairy Science will cover registration and all travel expenses. Participation will require students to miss 2 days of class and I will provide instructors with a written note explaining the competition and absence. The department’s selection process will preference students who have completed Dairy Science 233; Dairy Herd Management I.

Contestant Eligibility
Students must have completed not less than one year of course work or equivalent by that
institutions’ graduation rules. Students, with or without a bachelor’s degree, enrolled in graduate or professional studies programs are not eligible. A student is ineligible to be a contestant if he/she has (1) competed at the regional* or NAIDC National Contest, or (2) been an employee or paid consultant of any agricultural organization or service for which his/her duties included on farm dairy consulting (Excluding Internships).
We highly encourage you to consider this great opportunity to apply your dairy skills and network with industry professionals.

Feel free to contact Ted Halbach at tjhalbach@wisc.edu (608.219.5289) if you have any questions.


The 2017 Midwest Dairy Challenge drew the the largest group of Students in 12 Years: 

MADISON, Wisc., February 8-10, 2017– Coming from 10 states across the Midwest, 112 students from 18 colleges and universities gathered in the heart of Madison, Wisc., for the 12th annual Midwest Dairy Challenge. Students came together to gain valuable life, career and dairy management skills, as Dairy Challenge allows collegiates to apply theory and learning on a real-world dairy farm while working as part of a team.

Find full press release here

Results of the 2017 Midwest Dairy Challenge: In bold are the names of students from the University of Wisconsin Madison.

The judges awarded the following teams with the first and second place ranking among the eight total teams participating on each farm.

Farm 1, Baerwolf Dairies

First Place: Team 2, consisting of Ty Ax, University of Wisconsin-River Falls; Nicholas Leyendekker, Dordt College; Jessica Pralle, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Jared Sanderson, Michigan State University; and Chelsea Schossow, South Dakota State University

Second Place: Team 4, including Savannah Fagerland, Chippewa Valley Technical College; Laura Jensen, University of Minnesota; Seth Kathman, College of the Ozarks; Greta Stridsberg, The Ohio State University; and Jacob Weg, South Dakota State University

Farm 2, Ballweg Dairies

First Place: Team 16, comprised of Emily Butler, Michigan State University; Sydney Endres, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Angela Evers, The Ohio State University; Blaine Knutson, University of Minnesota; and Michael Rottinghaus, Kansas State University

Second Place: Team 13, including Chad Bruss, University of Wisconsin-Platteville; James Goldsmith, Iowa State University; Courtney McCourt, University of Wisconsin-Madison; and Katie McMahon, University of Illinois

Farm 3, Manthe Farms

First Place: Team 21, consisting of Bradley Griswold, University of Wisconsin-Madison; John Maurer, Lakeshore Technical College; Audrey Schmitz, Kansas State University; and Amber Yager, University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Second Place: Team 17, including Anthony Barta, Lakeshore Technical College; Lauren Engeman, University of Missouri; Fredrick Mansfield, University of Minnesota; and Mariah Schmitt, Iowa State University